Hunches and facts

Hunches or gut feelings are wonderful things.  They are often times things that should be followed and looked into for the facts.  Hunches are sometimes based in past events, trying to tell us something like this happened before and we should pay attention now if we don’t want the same thing to happen, especially if it was a bad thing.  However, they are emotionally based and are not necessarily facts.  If you are working in a capacity where you effect other people’s lives you should search for the facts before you act on any hunch you might have.  You do not have a right to permanently alter another persons life without good reason.  Hunches are not good reasons.  Facts are good reasons.  Facts require searching all of the facts, not just the ones that support your hunch or theory.  They are things that are not necessarily going to support your theory, they will sometimes turn you in an altogether different direction.  If your hunch is based in trying to help figure out the truth about a matter, then it is not emotionally and therefore ego based.  If it is, you will not turn this information away, you will accept the truth of it and move forward.  If you cannot do this, you are setting yourself up for failure because your information is incorrect.  Your hunch or theory is based in misinformation and emotional baggage from our past that needs to be looked at by you before you go any further.  These hunches are usually based in fear and come from something in childhood that was similar to whatever triggered this hunch.  If you are gathering all of the facts you will be alright, if not then you have to look at your motives and figure out why you cannot accept the truth when you see it, or accept being wrong.

Following hunches about everyday life choices are usually based in the past experiences that we’ve had.  They are usually telling us not to do the same thing again because it did not end well.  They are also usually emotionally based but are ony effecting us, not others   They should be followed because they are about us and our experiences and the fact that they were not good for us the last time they were experienced.  Listening to them is a way of validating those feelings and teaching new ways of dealing with the same type of thing, we will then change the way we experience things in the future.  These video’s will help you relax while you are making the change.  Link to the video’s.    Enjoy!

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

