Trouble sleeping

 

I have worked with many people who have had trouble sleeping.  This can happen for a variety of reasons.  Some are drug and alcohol related.  If you have used drugs and alcohol in the past or recently then you may have permanently altered your brain chemistry and may need a sleep study to best help you.  Melatonin, which is a brain chemical that shuts off your brain at night can also help.  No more the 10 mg. nightly should help.  If your not sleeping because you are worried about something and cannot shut your brain off or have experienced trauma there is another solution.

Your brain is constantly trying to file away the experiences that we have in our life and will not let it rest until we do that.  Whether it is something that is worrying us today or something that has happened in the past, it will bring it up in any manner it can until it is resolved and filed away.  Most of this has to do with emotional memories, since we have the capacity to remember everything that has ever happened to us since we’ve come out of the shoot.  It is the emotional part of that memory that gets us into trouble with the inability to sleep or function and the fact that we are usually running away from it.

So, since our brains will not stop until it is settled no matter how we try to medicate or run away from it, try this instead. Give yourself time to think about whatever is bothering you.  Set a timer for no more than 15 minutes to think about the problem or the past experience.  Do this daily until it is resolved.  Again, this is not an overnight thing, it will not happen quickly, no magic pill.  At night write down everything that is going through your mind at the moment in a book or tablet, then put it aside and use my relaxation video to help you sleep.    The link for the video’s

In the morning take time to meditate and connect with yourself and if you believe in God or a higher power with Him as well.  Set the timer for 15 minutes and think about whatever it is you wrote down then night before.  Write down whatever solutions you think of during the 15 minutes.  After the 15 minutes is up stop any thought about it from entering your mind throughout the day.  Tell yourself that you will think about it during the 15 minutes. The solutions that you though of, try to do, take what ever action that requires to solve the problem or resolve the issue.  What you cannot resolve because there is no resolution,  give away.  use the guided imagery video above to help you do that.  Eventually your brain will become used to only thinking about these things during the 15 minutes you’re allowing that to happen and stop bothering you during the day at work or at night when you’re trying to sleep.  Again it takes 3 weeks to change a behavior and 3 more weeks to make that behavior a habit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

