Labels

Labels by themselves are necessary.  They help us identify things in our environment and communicate with each other.  Labels become a problem when we use them to hurt each other.  When the label becomes an adjective to make a person less than we are in our eyes and the eyes of others.  When it helps us to eliminate, lessen, objectify, ridicule, be afraid of or negatively criticize another person or sometimes entire groups of people.

In my profession labels are critical to getting any kind of service the person might need.  In order for the insurance company to pay for the service it has to be labeled.  So if a person is diagnosed with Bipolar disorder they are a person who has Bipolar disorder.  That is not the only thing they are.  The Bipolar does not stop them from living their lives.  They have to be mindful of the disorder, they have to take care of themselves like any other disease with which a person might have to deal.  They are taking medication for the disease, they are learning to control the anger outbursts but the disease should not be defining them.  They should be taught to control it and use it to their advantage.  Other people should not look at them as having something wrong with them any more than any other disease.

Labels should only be used to help us communicate. There is no reason to be afraid of, criticize or try to lessen another person because of the label that they carry.  It is not the only thing that they are and you will be the one missing out in getting to know what else this person might be or become. If you are the person that is trying to make the person less than they are you can change the behavior.  It will take 3 weeks of constantly stopping yourself from negatively talking about another person and using their labels to hurt them.  It will take 3 more weeks to make that a habit.  This video will help you relax and give away what you have no control over.     Click here for the link to the video’s.      Enjoy!

 

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

