Life’s purpose

I have been working in the field of mental health since 1985 and very rarely have I seen anyone know what I mean when I ask them what their life purpose is, why do you think you are here on the face of the earth?  Most people and especially children have no idea what I’m talking about.  Some very small children know, but seem to lose it as they grow older and forget what their purpose might be.  Life’s purpose is whatever you are passionate about.  Whatever you do well.  Where your talents lay.  What makes you happy while you’re doing it.  What brings you peace.  We should be listening to our small children when they tell us what their purpose might be and encourage them to pursue it.  Help them with it.  We should be asking them about it and helping them figure it out.  If we help to give them a purpose, they will not be looking for something to do with their lives and getting into trouble, or playing with video games,  they will be following their purpose. Their purpose in life will become their passion instead of whatever electronic device they have at the time.  If your child is older there is still hope, but, you will have to limit the video game time and replace it with trying to find out what else they are interested in doing.  Maybe remember what they used to like doing before the video game was in their life.  What they used to be interested in doing with their time.  Slowly reintroduce that into their lives and at the same time you are limiting the video games.  This requires great patience and time and the ability to say what you mean and mean what you say.  Don’t back down just because you are meeting resistance.  If your children are used to you backing down and giving in to them if they put up resistance, they will continue to bug you until you do back down. Again, 3 weeks of constantly changing the habit and then 3 more weeks to make the replacement behavior the new habit.  Here is the relaxation and guided imagery video to help you relax and get rid of all of those things that are getting in the way of hearing what your purpose might be.    Here is the link     Enjoy!

 

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

