Trust

Trust is a fragile thing.  It is usually given until someone proves untrustworthy.  Once the trust is broken it will be difficult to get back.  The person now has to earn it back, only  if the person they betrayed  allows them back in their lives.  Breaking trust hurts both people.  It diminishes the person who did the betraying and it makes the person who was betrayed second guess themselves.  They may become guarded with who they allow in their lives, if it was a loved one who did the betraying they may have difficulty trusting anyone again.  Not everyone is untrustworthy however, and trying to figure out who is and who is not, is a difficult thing to know.  Most of the feelings that a person who has been betrayed feels is that they should have known and that they are stupid for not knowing.  Blaming yourself for not seeing the betrayal before it happened is unrealistic, especially if it is coming from someone who is suppose to love you.  Once it happens you need to forgive yourself for not seeing it and for being the human you are.  Doing what you can about the situation and letting go of the rest.  Placing the rest in the box and letting go is critical for you to be able to trust again.  Using this relaxation and guided imagery video  will help you do just that.   Click here for the video’s  Enjoy!

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

