Trauma and your emotional brain

You have two sides of one brain.  The emotional one and the analytical one.  For the most part the analytical brain works well with the emotional brain.  During trauma the analytical brain takes over and does not allow the emotions to override what is happening. You need to be logical at that time, not emotional.  So the emotions are squashed and the logical brain tries to get you out of whatever situation you find yourself in, alive.  This is the way it work for men and women, even though women are allowed to be emotional in public more often then men.  We are getting better at that.  Whether man or woman, you have attached an emotion to this memory and it will stay there until you deal with the emotion you squashed.  There are usually more then one emotion that was felt at the time of the event.  Yesterday I spoke about how trauma therapy works and how to detach the emotion from the memory.  You will probable never forget the event.  You do not always have to have the emotional response that is attached to the memory.  It does not always have to send you into the same emotions that you were having at the time of the event, but squashed.  You will be stuck there, however until you deal with it.  You will respond with the emotions that you had with the same intensity and duration.  You will behave in the same way, at the same age you were at the time of the event.  You may be 25 years old now, but, if you were 3 at the time of the event you will be responding at the emotional age of a 3 year old.  The emotions are still with that 3 year old you, not with the 25 year old you.  Your emotional maturity is based on this 3 year old, you have not grown emotionally much past this 3 year old if you have not dealt with this event.  Even though the 25 year old you is trying to deal with these emotions and quite often not knowing where they are coming from in the present. The 3 year old is running the show and controlling your emotions for you.  Not a good thing to allow to happen. Your emotional maturity is important for your growth as a person and needs as much respect as the analytical brain.  If it does not you will not be able to grow as a person.  The balance of emotions and logic is essential to human growth and being a better person.  To start any change in your life you must be relaxed enough to make it work. You also have to get rid of all of those things you have no control over.  This will help.  Click here for the videos    Enjoy!

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

