Mindfulness

Y ou hear a lot about mindfulness these days.  It has been around for a long time and all it means is to be in the moment.  To stay focused in the moment you are in at the time.  Enjoy it while you are in it.  Keep your mind focused on what you are doing right now and not on what you did last night or will be doing later today or tomorrow.  It is used in Dialectical Behavior Therapy to keep people with borderline personality disorder and trauma victims focused on the feeling they are experiencing at the moment, give them control over that moment and that feeling.  It has been used in this manner for several decades.  It helps a lot when you are experiencing flashbacks.  It is a matter of retraining your brain to stay focused on now.  Stop all other thoughts except what you are experiencing now.  It is the same thing as changing a habit you want to replace with something else.  You have to work at it and it will become a habit.  You have to be willing to stop yourself from thinking about anything else except what you are doing now.  Each time your thoughts stray you have to catch yourself and bring them back to what is going on now.  In three weeks you will have replaced your mind straying to other thing, with being able to stay in the moment.  Another three weeks of practicing the new behavior, it will become a habit.  It will also help you to be aware of what is going on around you and what you are actually feeling about it.  You will begin to enjoy life more because you are aware of  what it has to offer you in the moment.  It will also give you more control over your mind and what it is thinking for you.  You will need to slow down enough to pay attention and be mindful.  You will need to get rid of all of those things that you think about over and over again without stopping, like a hamster on their wheel.  All of those things that you have no control over and can do nothing about because it is someones elses job.  These video’s will help you to relax and get rid of all of those thing circling in your brain that you cannot control.    Click here for the link to the video’s      Enjoy!

 

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

