Relaxing and focusing for the day

When I was younger my day was full of getting kids where they needed to be and then getting me where I needed to be. I often did not have time to think about what I was doing until I was alone, without the kids.  As I got older I realized that my day went better, smoothly,  if I took time in the morning for me.  Not long, 5 to 10 minutes, to meditate, pray or sit alone and gather my thoughts.Relaxing and being able to focus are tied together because if our mind is not calm, you will not be able to focus.  If your thoughts are racing or you are thinking about too many things at once, focusing on just one of those things can be difficult.  How you start your day has a great deal to do with how your day will proceed.  If our day begins on fast forward, it will continue that way.  If your day begins slower it will give you time to not only think about what you need to do with it, but also prioritize those things that have to be done.  As i sat alone in the morning I prayed, it gave me peace and the ability to not only think about what needed to be done but to prioritize those things in my mind.  If you do not pray, then meditate or just sit alone in a quiet place.  You can write those things that have to be done down on paper,  The things that can be done, do, and cross them off the list as you do them during the day.  Those things that you have no control over, put in a shoe box and when the shoe box is full burn them or throw them away each day.  If you have been hanging on to some of those things for years, it may take you several times of writing them down and throwing them away to actually not have them come up in your mind again and again.  After all, if you walk 4 miles into the woods, you will have to walk 4 miles out of the woods and you will also be tired and sore from the walk.  But, you continue because you do not want to stay in the woods, just rest there until you gather your strength to continue your walk home.  If the same things come up over and over again, you may still have something that needs to be done with that situation or issue.  Most of the time it has to do with forgiving ourselves for something we think we have done or not done.  These video’s will help you to relax and give awa wha you have no control over.  Link to the video’s.  Enjoy!

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

