Suffering

All of us suffer.  Some a lot and some not so much.  We all suffer from time to time to the degree that we can tolerate the suffering.  Suffering is a means to an end.  If we do not suffer then we do not grow and change for the better.  When suffering occurs, so does change.  If we allow the suffering to break us then we are defeated, but, if we look at the suffering as a way to change what is present in our lives that needs changing, then we learn what needs to be learned, and can move on in a positive manner.  Suffering is not something to be avoided at all costs.  Suffering is something that should be seen as part of the growing process, a means to an end.  When something ends, it hurts, we grieve whatever it was.  Something better comes to take its place, a door opens that we never saw before, possibilities come about that were never present.  Suffering is not just an end, it is a new beginning if we are open to it.  If we shut down and stay stuck in the sorrow, we miss the opportunity.  I am not saying don’t grieve the loss.  You have to grieve in order to move past it.  I am saying stay open to other possibilities while you are grieving, they will come if you are open to them.  I am saying do not shut down and close yourself off to whatever else is coming your way.  Growth and change comes during great sorrow.  Nothing grows and becomes something more beautiful unless it has experienced pain, been broken first and remained open to the possibilities.  Closing off and shutting down allows nothing in and death occurs.  Giving away all that is not necessary for growth is a good way to remain open to what comes next in your life.  Getting rid of the burden is a great way to remain open to what your next step in life may be.  Here is the guided imagery video to help you do that.   Link to the guided imagery   Enjoy!

 

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

