Immediate emotion

Have you ever met someone or been in a situation when you were immediately in tears or angry and didn’t exactly know why?   Or maybe blamed it on the person that just said or did something that ordinarily wouldn’t bother you much at all?  Those situations have very little to do with the present moment and a lot to do with what just got triggered inside of you from your past.  It could be anything that reminds you of the original situation that traumatized you.  You could have been triggered by a word, a phrase, the color of someones shirt , the smell of someone’s cologne or hair, the way they carry themselves, the way they speak or whatever sent you back into your past and you began to feel the emotions you did when the original situation happened, just like it was happening now, all over again.    Whatever it was that triggered the emotion(s) in the present moment will continue to trigger you in your present and future until you deal with whatever it was in your past that you’re trying really hard to forget.  Traumatic memory will continue to be triggered until you deal with the original situation and allow your brain to file it away as a regular memory so that you have control over when it is recalled, so that it does not keep coming up when we don’t want it or least expect it.  So that you normalize the emotion attached to the memory.  Doing what you can to resolve it and then letting go of what you have no control over.  The following link will help you do just that.

Here is the link. Enjoy!

Published by

dtoomey2015

I became a therapist in an attempt to understand my own childhood and what happened there and how it made me who I am, exhibiting the behaviors that were not always positive, very often self-destructive. I used Art Therapy to help me understand things in my past that were stopping me from making better decisions in my present day. I used Behavioral Science to help me understand underlying causal factors, roots to the present day behaviors that I was seeing in myself. Both help me to change those behaviors/thoughts that were causing me to make self-destructive decisions that were causing pain in life. I have been a therapist since 1985 and have an undergraduate degree Art and behavioral science (double major) from the University of Maine. My graduate work was done at Marywood university and I have a degree in Art Therapy. I have certificates in Forensic Interviewing and Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior therapy. I have 22 out of 30 credits toward a degree in Trauma Therapy from Drexel University. I started out as a Community Support Worker, Program Manager/Clinical Supervisor, Family therapist and Outpatient therapist.

Leave a Reply

